FPS board makes Power assistant principal post permanent

Paula Sanders-Avent
Paula Sanders-Avent

On Tuesday, Farmington Public Schools Board of Education made Paula Sanders-Avant’s job as interim assistant principal at Power Middle School permanent.

Sanders-Avant began her career in Farmington Public Schools when she joined Farmington High School as a guidance counselor in 2007. She served in that role until she was selected in August 2016 to serve at Power.

Previously an elementary teacher and high school counselor in other school districts in Michigan and Illinois, Sanders-Avant earned her B.A. in Elementary Education from Michigan State University and her M.S. in Human Services and Counseling from DePaul University.

“I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to work at Power Middle School as assistant principal,” she said. “I look forward to serving our students, parents, staff and the Farmington community in my new role. I really appreciate the support from my family, friends and FPS colleagues.”

“From the moment that Paula stepped into our school as an interim assistant principal, I have been impressed by her grace under pressure, her outstanding communication with our entire Power community and her dedication to Power Middle School,” said Power Middle School Principal Allyson Robinson. “I am beyond thrilled that I get to continue working with her in this capacity and I know that she will be an outstanding asset in every sense of the word.”

Press release

