MDOT: Some I-275/M-5 ramps open, but more work lies ahead

The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) on Thursday opened I-275/M-5/I-696 ramps, but more will close next week.

Crews opened the west I-696 ramp to north M-5 opened first, followed by west M-5 to north M-5 and north I-275 to north M-5. But more work remains; MDOT also announced the following closures from 8 p.m. on Friday through 5 a.m. on Monday:

  • South M-5 to south I-275, closed all weekend
  • South M-5 common ramp to east M-5/south I-275, closed all weekend
  • South M-5 will have one lane open from 12 Mile to interchange
  • East I-96 ramp to south I-275 will have one lane open
  • East 12 Mile ramp to south M-5, closed all weekend

The following closures will affect motorists next week, Monday through Friday:

  • South M-5 will have one lane open from 12 Mile to interchange
  • South M-5 to south I-275 will have one lane open
  • South M-5 common ramp to east M-5/south I-275 will close
  • East 12 Mile ramp to south M-5 will close
