M-5 lane, ramp closures start Thursday

The Michigan Department of Transportation is moving into the last stage of the I-275 project, which involves closing the northbound M-5 ramps beginning Thursday.

Starting at 10 a.m. on September 15, through 8 p.m., September 16, the northbound M-5 ramp to 12 Mile Road will be closed for sawing concrete patches. The ramp will open for the weekend, but will close again at 10 a.m., September 19, for approximately three weeks to replace the concrete.

The following restrictions will be in place 8 p.m. September 16, through 5 a.m., September 19:

  • Eastbound M-5 will have one lane open at Haggerty Road
  • The southbound M-5 ramp to eastbound M-5 will be closed
  • Southbound M-5 will have one lane closed south of 12 Mile Road

In addition, Haggerty Road will be closed over the I-275/I-696/I-96/M-5 interchange from north of Grand River Avenue to south of 12 Mile Road from 5 a.m., September 17, through 5 a.m., September 19. The detour will be Meadowbrook Road.

Beginning 10 a.m., September 19, the following M-5 ramps will be closed for approximately three weeks:

  • Westbound I-696 to northbound M-5
  • Westbound M-5 ramp to northbound M-5
  • Northbound I-275 to northbound M-5

The detour for the northbound M-5 ramp closures is westbound I-696/I-96 to Beck Road, then eastbound I-96 to northbound M-5. During these ramp closures, the only available ramp access to northbound M-5 will be from eastbound I-96.

The $75.1 million project has involved replacing 13 miles of concrete pavement, repairing entrance and exit ramps at each “Mile” road and through the I-275/I-96/I-696/M-5 interchange, repairing 16 bridges, improving drainage, and intelligent transportation systems (ITS) work.

Press release

