Clay, Kahn out; 14 apply for vacant Farmington school board seats

Sheilah Clay
Long-time board member Sheilah Clay is not seeking re-election. (Farmington School District photo)

Fourteen candidates met the July 26 filing date to run on November 8 for three six-year and two partial terms on the Farmington Public Schools Board of Education.

Notably absent from the list of candidates: current board members Sheilah Clay and Murray Kahn, whose terms expire this year. First appointed in 2006, Clay was elected in 2007 and re-elected in 2011. Kahn was elected in 2011.

Applicants for the six-year terms include Terri Weems and James Stark, current board members appointed to fill unexpired terms. Another appointee, David Turner, filed for the partial term, which expires on December 31, 2018.

Murray Kahn
Elected in 2011, board member Murray Kahn is not seeking re-election.

Also on the six-year list are Donald David, Clark Doughty, Bruce P. Lilley, William J. Lubaway, Tammy Luty, Ed Richardson, Tera Shamey, and Angie Smith.

David, Lubaway and Doughty all applied for recent board vacancies. Smith ran for a school board seat in 2011. Lilley was a 2012 candidate for the Michigan House of Representatives District 37 seat. Shamey is a teacher in the district and founder of Operation Common Good, an intra-district charity that supports students and families in need. Luty is past president of the district’s PTA Council and applied for a vacant board seat in 2010.

In addition to Turner, the partial-term list includes Trisha Balazovic, Fritz Beiermeister, and Mark Przeslawski. Balazovic served as an appointed board member in March of 2014 and lost in the following November election. Beiermeister, who serves on the district’s Bond Oversight Committee, has applied for previous appointments. Przeslawski has spoken out at school board meetings regarding this year’s school closure decisions.

Four candidates – Luty, Weems, Beiermeister, and Turner – filed signed petitions; the other 10 candidates paid the $100 filing fee.