Your Voice: Important to lock up firearms

To the editor:

I would like to reinforce the idea of safely locking up firearms. (County, local police raise awareness with gun lock giveaway) I have a story to share that makes the point.

I grew up in the late 1950s-1960s at Farmington Rd. and 12 Mile in the Kendallwood 1 subdivision.  In my early teenage years, I wanted to impress a boy so when my parents were away from the house I allowed the boy to look at my dad’s gun collection – some of it souvenirs from World War II. That quickly escalated to the boy taking out a submachine gun that was not plugged (illegal) – a souvenir my dad had tucked out of sight – putting it in a paper bag and walking across 12 Mile Rd. to the field between 12 Mile and I-696 (no longer a field, of course!) and firing off rounds.

Thankfully no one was hurt, nor was any property damaged.  My dad figured out his gun had been tampered with, and there was hell to pay, but my point is that kids can do some pretty idiotic and scary things!

Joan Hager
Wells, Maine

