I-696 nightly closures at Orchard Lake Road begin

Night-time travel on I-696 in Farmington Hills is about to get a little more tricky.

Beginning at 9 p.m. today, the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) will close two lanes of westbound I-696 between Orchard Lake Road and I-275. At 11 p.m., a third lane will be closed, leaving one lane open until 5 a.m., when all lanes will reopen. These lane closures will occur for three consecutive nights.

From 9 p.m. Friday through 5 a.m. Monday, westbound I-696 will be closed between Lahser Road and the I-275/I-96/M-5 interchange. All ramps leading onto westbound I-696 between Lahser Road and the I-275/I-96/M-5 interchange will also be closed.

The I-696 repair work will also require one last westbound weekend closure, along with two eastbound closures, at a later date.

According to an MDOT media release, the detour is west I-696 to north M-10, then south US-24 (Telegraph Road) to west M-5, and west I-96.

In all, MDOT will replace 88 lane miles of concrete pavement on I-275 from north of Five Mile Road to the I-96/I-696/M-5 interchange, including all the ramps on “Mile” roads and at the I-96/I-696/M-5 interchange. The project also includes concrete repairs on I-696, repairs on 16 bridges, drainage improvements, and intelligent transportation systems (ITS) work. Southbound I-275 remains closed from the I-96/I-696/M-5 interchange to Five Mile Road until July.

Project details can be found at revive275.com and up-to-date closure information is available on the Mi Drive app and at michigan.gov/drive.

