Weekend construction to close westbound I-696

The Michigan Department of Transportation’s closure of westbound I-696 this weekend will stretch from Lahser into Farmington Hills, as far as I-275.

According to an MDOT news release, concrete repair work will begin at 9 p.m. on Friday, and run through 5 a.m. Monday. All entrance ramps from Lahser Road, Telegraph Road, and Orchard Lake to westbound I-696 will be closed.

Westbound I-696 traffic will be detoured onto M-10 (Lodge/Northwestern); MDOT suggests a detour route that follows M-10 to south US-24 (Telegraph) to west Eight Mile (M-102) to west M-5 to west I-96.

The news release indicated that additional I-696 weekend closures will be announced laster. Southbound I-275 remains closed through July as part of a major reconstruction project. Learn more at revive275.com.

