August primary races set, Farmington Hills residents running

The field is set for Michigan’s August 2 primary election, and these candidates have filed to represent Farmington and Farmington Hills in federal, state and county posts:

11th Congressional District

Incumbent Republican David Trott and challenger Anil Kumar, a Democrat, have no primary opponents.

14th Congressional

Incumbent Democrat Brenda Lawrence faces a primary challenge from Vanessa Moss of Southfield. Republican Howard Klausner, also of Southfield, has no primary competition.

State Representative – District 37

Republicans Matt Beer and Mitch Swoboda will face off to determine who will run against incumbent Democrat Christine Greig this fall. She has no primary opponent.

Oakland County Commissioner – 13th District

Republicans Michelle Dinardo of Farmington Hills and Max Rohtbart of West Bloomfield are running to determine who will be on the ballot with incumbent Democrat Marcia Gershenson of Bloomfield Hills.

Oakland County Commissioner – 14th District

Neither Republican Bill Dwyer nor Democrat William Miller III, both of Farmington Hills, has a primary opponent.

Oakland County Commissioner – 21st District

There’s no primary challenge in this race; Republican Richard A. Van Camp of Farmington Hills and incumbent Democrat Janet Jackson of Southfield have filed.

47th District Court

Longtime Judge Marla Parker of Farmington Hills will run unopposed.

In addition, these Farmington Hills residents are running for county-wide posts:

  • Vicki Barnett, a former state representative, city council member, and mayor, is running to unseat veteran County Executive L. Brooks Patterson. She will face off against Mark Danowski of Davisburg in the primary; Patterson has no primary opponent.
  • Water Resources Commissioner Jim Nash of Farmington Hills doesn’t have a primary opponent. Republicans Paul Welday of Farmington Hills and Robert E. Buxbaum of Oak Park have filed for the primary race.